daily coverage of the optics & photonics industry and the markets that it serves
Photonics World

Photonics21 adds auto industry expertise to stakeholder board

26 Nov 2019

European group elects representatives from Veoneer, Carl Zeiss, IQE, Adva, and 3D-Micromac to decision-making body.

Photonics21, the European group that coordinates much of the photonics-related innovation activity funded via the European Commission, has welcomed several new industry representatives to its board of stakeholders.

The 100-strong board, which is the key decision-making entity within the Photonics21 organization, partially renews its stakeholder board every year with an election of new members.

In the latest election 176 voters - equivalent to around 80 per cent of the total registered - cast their votes for 21 candidates, electing 16 new members for a four-year term.

With the likes of Carl Zeiss, Adva Optical Networking, 3D-Micromac and IQE now represented, Photonics21 says that exactly half of its board of stakeholders now comes from industry - the minimum number mandated by its constitution.

Auto expertise
The latest iteration of the board also gains automotive industry expertise, thanks to the election of Jan-Erik Källhammer from car parts giant Veoneer’s Swedish operation. Veoneer is focused on products for active safety, autonomous driving, occupant protection, and brake control.

Research institutes now account for just over one-third of the Photonics21 board of stakeholders, with the remainder representing clusters or member organizations such as the European Optical Society.

Germany remains the best-represented of 17 different European Union member states, with 24 representatives taking it close to the maximum 30 per cent allocation that is allowed under the Photonics21 constitution.

In contrast, and perhaps unsurprisingly, UK representation has diminished in numbers. The board now features only five UK members - although the latest election did see Iwan Davies from the compound semiconductor epiwafer foundry IQE join.

The gender split of the board also remains extremely biased in favor of men. Only one of the newly elected members - Eleni Diamanti from the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) in France - is female, meaning that women now make up less than 5 per cent of the stakeholder board.

The newly elected members and their affiliations are as follows:

• Tino Petsch - 3D-Micromac (Germany)
• Michael Eiselt - ADVA Optical Networking (Germany)
• Ulrich Simon - Carl Zeiss (Germany)
• Eleni Diamanti - CNRS (France)
• Santiago Simon - DAS Photonics (Spain)
• Gilles Pauliat - European Optical Society (Finland)
• Arnold Gillner - Fraunhofer Institute of Laser Technology (Germany)
• Roel Baets - Ghent University (Belgium)
• Elias Hontzopoulos - Hellenic Photonics Cluster (Greece)
• Iwan Davies - IQE (UK)
• Siegfried Luger - Luger Research (Austria)
• Staffan Tjörnhammar (Sweden)
• Rogerio Nunes Nogueria - SPOF (Portugal)
• Christoph Leyens - TU Dresden (Germany)
• Paul Townsend - Tyndall National Institute (Ireland)
• Jan-Erik Källhammer - Veoneer (Sweden)

The full list of the current Photonics21 board of stakeholders can be downloaded here.

Hyperion OpticsUniverse Kogaku America Inc.LASEROPTIK GmbHSPECTROGON ABCHROMA TECHNOLOGY CORP.Iridian Spectral TechnologiesTRIOPTICS GmbH
© 2024 SPIE Europe
Top of Page