daily coverage of the optics & photonics industry and the markets that it serves
Featured Showcases
Photonics West Showcase
Photonics World

PW 2012: green awards for laser innovators

01 Feb 2012

Awards announced ahead of keynote presentation at the opening of the LASE conference.

By Matthew Peach at Photonics West 2012, San Francisco

The SPIE Technology Achievement Award

The SPIE Technology Achievement Award

Young innovators in photonics and laser technologies were recognized at the opening of the LASE Plenary Session on Wednesday morning, 25 January. Two key awards were announced ahead of the keynote presentation on the Impact of Green Technology in Germany.

The first – the SPIE Technology Achievement Award – was presented to James Coleman, of the University of Illinois, Urbana, Il, in recognition of his contributions to the methods, designs, and demonstrations of selectively grown discrete and monolithically-integrated compound semiconductor lasers and photonic devices.

The presentation was made jointly by SPIE president 
Eustace Dereniak (a Professor of Optical Sciences and Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Arizona) and his predecessor Katarina Svanberg (Professor, Department of Oncology, Lund University, Sweden).

Following this, the Green Photonics Award in Laser-assisted Manufacturing and Micro/Nano was presented to a team from Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, US, for their work on femtosecond laser doping and nanostructuring of silicon for photovoltaics. Benjamin Franta and Katherine Phillips received the award from Green Photonics conference chair Stephen Eglash.

Other Green Photonics Awards and winners included the Green Photonics Award in Solid State Lighting and Displays, presented to Gangadharan Ajith Kumar, Madhab Pokhrel and Dhiraj Sardar, of The Univ. of Texas at San Antonio, TX, US, for their work on Infrared excited Yb: Er: Y2O2S phosphors with intense emission for lighting applications.

The Green Photonics Award in Communications went to: Philip Moser, Technische Univ. Berlin; James A. Lott, VI Systems GmbH; Philip Wolf, Gunter Larisch, Alexey Payusov, Gerrit Fiol, Technische Univ. Berlin; Nikolay Ledentsov, VI Systems GmbH; Werner Hofmann, Dieter Bimberg, Technische Univ. Berlin for their work on Energy-efficient VCSELs for "green" data and computer communication.

The Green Photonics Award in Renewable Energy Generation: Fusion and Photovoltaics was presented to: Jonathan Grandidier, Dennis M. Callahan, Jr., Michael Deceglie, Jeremy Munday, Harry Atwater, California Institute of Technology (United States) for their project on Simulations of solar cell enhancement using whispering-gallery modes of dielectric nanospheres.

About the Author

Matthew Peach is a contributing editor to optics.org

Mad City Labs, Inc.LaCroix Precision OpticsOptikos Corporation CeNing Optics Co LtdPhoton Lines LtdAlluxaECOPTIK
© 2024 SPIE Europe
Top of Page