daily coverage of the optics & photonics industry and the markets that it serves
Historical Archive

Kidger Scholarship and SPIE student winners named

06 Jul 2010

Awards recognize student achievement, potential in optics and photonics.

Braulio Fonseca Carneiro Albuquerque, of the National Institute for Space Research in Sao Paulo, Brazil, has been selected as the 2010 Michael Kidger Memorial Scholarship winner.

Albuquerque completed a Master's degree in engineering and space technology in 2005. His studies involved an investigation into the influence of optical aberrations in star trackers, and he continued to work in the field of optical design. In 2008, while studying for his PhD, he was awarded a Brazilian National Council for Scientific and Technological Development fellowship. This enabled him to develop his research on glass selection for the design of super-achromatic optics for remote sensors during a three-month visit to the College of Optical Sciences, University of Arizona, under the supervision of Prof. Jose Sasian. Albuquerque states that the scholarship will help him to complete his PhD with a further six months stay at the University of Arizona.

The scholarship was presented at the International Optical Design Conference in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA, in June.

The Michael Kidger Memorial Scholarship was established in 1998 to honour Michael John Kidger, a well respected educator, design software developer, and member of the optical science and engineering community. The scholarship is overseen by a select committee of leading individuals in lens design and the Michael Kidger family.

SPIE will be awarding more than $300,000 (US) in scholarships to 137 outstanding students this year who have the potential to make important contributions to optics and photonics or a related discipline.

The scholarship grants, to be distributed for the 2010–2011 academic year, bring to more than $3 million the total amount SPIE has distributed for individual scholarships over the years. The SPIE Scholarship Program reflects the society's commitment to education and to the next generation of optical scientists and engineers around the world. Individual awards range from $2000 to $11,000.

Babak Shadgan, a medical doctor and PhD candidate in experimental medicine at the University of British Columbia (Canada) was awarded the SPIE D J Lovell Scholarship. It is the society's most prestigious scholarship and is sponsored by SPIE with contributions from Labsphere Inc. Shadgan is developing a non-invasive diagnostic technique using near infrared spectroscopy to help evaluate, diagnose and treat bladder muscle dysfunction.

Amirhossein Tehranchi, a member of the SPIE Student Chapter at Ecole Polytechnique de Montréal (Canada), is this year's winner of the John Kiel Scholarship. This is the society's second largest scholarship and is sponsored by SPIE. Tehranchi's PhD studies at the Poly-Grames Research Center have involved developing photonic devices.

For the complete list of SPIE scholarship winners, visit our scholarships 2010 webpage. For more information about SPIE's scholarship programme, and the criteria used by the SPIE Scholarship Committee in selecting recipients, visit spie.org/scholarships.

The application deadline for scholarships for the 2011–2012 academic year is 15 January 2011. The 2011 application form will be available at spie.org/scholarships in August.

art Photonics GmbHBristol Instruments, Inc.Changchun Jiu Tian  Optoelectric Co.,Ltd.Delta Optical Thin Film A/SSpectrum Scientific Inc. -  SSI OpticsLightPath TechnologiesEKSMA Optics
Copyright © 2021 SPIE EuropeDesigned by Kestrel Web Services