Liquid Instruments Webinar
Liquid Instruments Webinar
daily coverage of the optics & photonics industry and the markets that it serves
Featured Showcases
Photonics West Showcase
Historical Archive

Innovation prize invites nominations

05 Sep 2005

Nominations are being sought for the 2006 Berthold Leibinger Innovation Prize.

The Berthold Leibinger Stiftung is calling for nominations for its prestigious International Innovation Prize 2006. Awarded biennially, the prize rewards outstanding research in the field of applied laser physics.

Three prize winners will be awarded a total of EURO 35,000. This breaks down into EURO 20,000 for first prize, EURO 10,000 for second prize and EURO 5,000 for third position.

Potential applicants have until November 14 2005 to put together their nomination. (Full details regarding the "Conditions of Participation" are presented on the Berthold Leibinger Stiftung website.)

Short-listed nominees will be invited to personally present their work to a jury in Ditzingen, Germany in March 2006 and the awards will be presented in summer of 2006.

The prize was first awarded in 2000. Past winners have included Ursula Keller from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH) for her work on semiconductor saturable absorber mirrors for ultrafast lasers and a group at the Institute for High-Power Beam Technology at the University of Stuttgart in Germany for its work on the disk laser.

The Berthold Leibinger Stiftung is a private not-for-profit foundation and was established in 1992 by the president of German firm TRUMPF.

TRIOPTICS GmbHBerkeley Nucleonics CorporationUniverse Kogaku America Inc.LASEROPTIK GmbHHyperion OpticsCeNing Optics Co LtdAlluxa
© 2024 SPIE Europe
Top of Page