daily coverage of the optics & photonics industry and the markets that it serves
Featured Showcases
Photonics West Showcase
Press Releases
Press Release

UK Institute of Physics names its 2022 Award Winners

Date Announced: 28 Oct 2022

London, UK – 24 October, 2022 – The UK Institute of Physics has named the winners of the 2022 Institute of Physics Awards. Over the next week each winner will be individually celebrated on our Twitter stream @PhysicsNews but as of this morning they are all now available to view on our webpage.

The IOP Awards celebrate the excellence which we know is everywhere in physics – in research, education, outreach and application; in people at all stages of their careers; in all parts of the UK and Ireland and internationally.

And they celebrate people at every stage of their career, from those just starting out through to those at their peak.

IOP President, Sheila Rowan, CBE, said: “On behalf of the IOP, I warmly congratulate this year’s Award winners. Each and every one of them has made a significant and positive impact in their profession, whether as a researcher, teacher, industrialist, technician or apprentice.”

Several of the winners work in optics and photonics – or have strong connections to these disciplines:

Isaac Newton Medal and Prize

The Isaac Newton Medal and Prize is for world-leading contributions to physics by an individual of any nationality.

2022 Isaac Newton Medal and Prize winner

Professor Margaret Murnane receives the medal and prize for pioneering and sustained contributions to the development of ultrafast lasers and coherent X-ray sources and the use of such sources to understand the quantum nature of materials.

Gold Medals

Our Gold Medals recognise outstanding and sustained contributions by physicists of international renown to a wide range of physics.

2022 Gold Medal winners

  • Professor Nikolay I Zheludev receives the Michael Faraday Medal and Prize for international leadership, discoveries and in-depth studies of new phenomena and functionalities in photonic nanostructures and nanostructured matter.
  • Dr Andrew James Shields receives the Katharine Burr Blodgett Medal and Prize for pioneering industrial R&D over two decades on quantum communication devices and systems, leading to their commercial exploitation in the UK.

Silver Subject Medals

Our Silver Subject Medals are awarded annually to recognise and reward distinguished contributions to physics.

2022 Silver Subject Medal winners

  • Professor Thomas F Krauss receives the Thomas Young Medal and Prize for pioneering contributions to semiconductor photonic nanostructures.
  • Professor Kieran Thomas Flanagan receives the Ernest Rutherford Medal and Prize for pioneering contributions to laser spectroscopy of exotic nuclei, particularly the use of resonance ionisation and its application to single-atom sensitivity in mass spectrometry and trace-metal analysis for environmental testing.
  • Professor Erminia Calabrese receives the Fred Hoyle Medal and Prize for distinguished work on observational cosmology using the Cosmic Microwave Background to study the origins, content and evolution of the universe, and to probe new regimes of physics.
  • Professor Michael Holynski receives the James Joule Medal and Prize for distinguished contributions to the development of quantum sensors, overcoming major technological challenges in underground mapping and demonstrating the detection of application-relevant targets.

optics.org note: this list above is a selection of this year's IOP Awards; the full list of winners is available to view on the IOP webpage.


Institute of Physics
37 Caledonian Road
London N1 9BU
Tel +44 (0)20 7470 4800
Fax +44 (0)20 7470 4848

E-mail: engagement@iop.org

Web Site: www.iop.org

© 2024 SPIE Europe
Top of Page