daily coverage of the optics & photonics industry and the markets that it serves
Press Releases
Press Release

OSA, DPG Name H. Jeff Kimble Winner of Herbert Walther Award

Date Announced: 05 Dec 2012

Caltech scientist will receive award at LASER show in Munich next year.

WASHINGTON, Dec. 5, 2012—The Optical Society (OSA) and the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG) are proud to announce the Herbert Walther Award will be presented to H. Jeff Kimble of the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) for his pioneering experimental contributions to quantum optics, cavity quantum electrodynamics, and quantum information science.

“Jeff has led a revolution in modern physics through his pioneering research in the coherent control of the interactions of light and matter,” said OSA CEO Elizabeth Rogan. “His work has changed the way physicists approach research in quantum optics, atomic physics, and quantum information science. We are proud to recognize his professional efforts with this important award.”

Kimble began his career at General Motors Research Laboratories before joining the faculty of the University of Texas at Austin where he remained for 10 years as a professor of physics. He was named director of the Institute for Quantum Information and Matter (IQIM) at Caltech in 2011, where he has taught as professor of physics since 1989. Kimble is regarding as the leading figure in the creation and application of nonclassical light -- light with manifestly quantum properties.

His research has led to the creation of new tools that allow the control of the processes by which an individual atom interacts with a single photon, affecting a broad range of scientific fields from atomic physics to chemistry and biology. He received his B.S. in physics from Abilene Christian University and his M.A. and Ph.D. in physics at the University of Rochester. He is the recipient of numerous awards including OSA’s Max Born Award in 1996.

The Herbert Walther Award honors Professor Herbert Walther for the seminal influence of his groundbreaking innovations in quantum optics and atomic physics and for his numerous contributions to the international scientific community. The Award is jointly sponsored by DPG and OSA and presented by each society in alternate years.

Established in 2007, the Award recognizes distinguished contributions in quantum optics and atomic physics as well as leadership in the international scientific community. Kimble will join the list of esteemed past recipients including Alain Aspect, Marlan O. Scully, Serge Haroche and David J. Wineland.

Kimble will receive the award at CLEO/Europe in Munich, Germany, during LASER World of PHOTONICS in May 2013.

Source: OSA/DPG


via web site

E-mail: via web site

Web Site: www.osa.org

Copyright © 2020 SPIE EuropeDesigned by Kestrel Web Services