daily coverage of the optics & photonics industry and the markets that it serves
Photonics World

Vanderbilt’s Mahadevan-Jansen elected to SPIE presidential chain

20 Aug 2019

To become Society’s President in 2022, Anita Mahadevan-Jansen is leader in biomedical engineering and biophotonics.

SPIE Fellow Anita Mahadevan-Jansen, professor of biomedical engineering and director of the Vanderbilt Biophotonics Center at Vanderbilt University, TN, US, has been elected to serve as the 2020 Vice President of SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics.

With her election, announced last week during SPIE’s Optics + Photonics expo in San Diego, Mahadevan-Jansen joins the SPIE presidential chain and will serve as President-Elect in 2021 and as the Society's President in 2022.

SPIE 2019 President Jim Oschmann, of Ball Aerospace, now retired, made the announcement along with other SPIE election results at the Annual General Meeting of the Society on 13 August in San Diego. Terms begin 1 January 2020.


Mahadevan-Jansen has already served on numerous SPIE committees including as former Chair of the Membership Committee, and current Chair of the newly formed Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Ad Hoc Committee. She was an elected member of the SPIE Board of Directors from 2014-2016, and currently serves on the 2018-2020 Board.

She received her BSc and MSc in Physics at the University of Bombay, India, and her MS and PhD in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin.

Mahadevan-Jansen currently serves on the Board of CLIRSPEC, the international Society of Clinical Spectroscopy, was a National Academy of Sciences nominated appointee to the US Advisory Committee to the International Commission in Optics, and has been on the editorial boards of Applied Spectroscopy, Journal of Biomedical Optics, and Neurophotonics.

Her technical interests include biophotonics, optical spectroscopy and imaging for disease detection, neurophotonics, cancer diagnosis, optical guidance of surgery, and clinical translation of optical technologies.

Other senior electees

John Greivenkamp, a professor at the James C. Wyant College of Optical Sciences at University of Arizona will serve as the 2020 President. Jason Mulliner, chief financial officer at Alluxa Inc, was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2020 Secretary/Treasurer.

The newly elected Society Directors, who will serve three-year terms for 2020-2022, are:

  • Helena Rubinsztein-Dunlop, University of Queensland
  • Katie Schwertz, Edmund Optics
  • Cristina Solano, Centro de Investigaciones en Óptica
  • J. Scott Tyo, UNSW Canberra

The SPIE nominating committee accepts recommendations for the election slate on an ongoing basis. Directors, who serve a three-year term, are expected to attend and participate in three board meetings each year. To make a recommendation, or for more information, email governance@spie.org.

Iridian Spectral TechnologiesLaCroix Precision OpticsBerkeley Nucleonics CorporationHÜBNER PhotonicsAlluxaOptikos Corporation CHROMA TECHNOLOGY CORP.
© 2024 SPIE Europe
Top of Page